Niagara Falls, Here We Come!

Well, it’s that time: packing mania is in full force here at Princess Central! It is finally here…we’re Niagara bound for Run Fest weekend!

niagara run with river

The weather looks a little iffy for race day and keeps changing by the hour, but it looks like it will be a cool day – possibly some rain or maybe not, possibly some wind or maybe not. Obviously, if I could wave my magic wand and make it perfect conditions, I would. But I have done absolutely everything I can to create the perfect conditions for my own race with my own training. And that work is done, ladies and gentlemen, so I will have to let Mother Nature do what she will and make the best of whatever I am given on Sunday. One thing is for certain: this princess is always prepared in the wardrobe department so whatever happens, I’ll be ready!

We have so much going on over the course of the weekend, including a family vacation to Great Wolf Lodge Niagara – in fact, I am not sure my kids have even grasped that there is a race! They have been counting down for weeks as this is one of their favourite places to visit (second only to Disney World, of course). Halloween is our favourite holiday and we are in luck because Great Wolf Lodge has a howling great time in store for us with trick-or-treating, spooky story time, costume parades and a Monster Mash Dance Party. So this princess on the run will be moonlighting as a witch on the fly!

NiagaraFallsFireworks

As featured bloggers for the Niagara Falls International Marathon Race Weekend, we were invited to the VIP Reception on Friday night and I am so excited to catch up with our fellow Canadian bloggers, I Run on Water and Running a Balance, and to meet many new friends. As part of the evening festivities, we’ll also be taking in the special fireworks show over the Falls. Now that we are spoiled by runDisney, this seems fitting – I really can’t run a race until I’ve been welcomed by fireworks! We’re also ready to hit the Expo where I’m sure to discover many things I absolutely must have and cannot live without. And just because we wouldn’t want to actually rest on this vacation, we’ll also be seeing the sights of Niagara – taking a tour of the Falls on the Maid of the Mist, riding the SkyWheel for that perfect bird’s eye view, and exploring the glitzy (ahem, some may prefer the word tacky) Clifton Hill.

And then comes race day: on Sunday morning, Princess Alana will line up for the 10K and I’ll be bused to the half-marathon start where I will be chasing a new PR – and a big one at that. Yes, a big one (and yes, I am practicing the can-do attitude I will need on race day!). Afterwards, we’ll be celebrating at The Rainforest Café and I will then be happily soaking in the hot tub back at Great Wolf Lodge for the rest of the day. Likely with my medal on. Seriously. I plan to earn it like never before.

fire in me

But for now, packing continues. Making my lists. Checking them twice. Excited and anxious. Nervous, but ready. Niagara Falls, here we come! (We’ll be posting updates throughout the weekend on our Facebook page – join us over there!)

~Princess Jodi

PS. Don’t miss out! This is your last chance to get an adorable Urban Running Girl shrug at 20% off – just use 2PRINCESSES at check-out. The offer is good through Sunday. If you missed our review of this product, check it out here!

4 thoughts on “Niagara Falls, Here We Come!

  1. Wishing you a very speedy Sunday Jodi. I had the same goal last week and lots of positive thoughts during the hard parts of the race did not hurt either. Also, I had a male runner say as I passed he and his running buddy, “we can’t let that beat us” meaning me with a Sparkle skirt, adorned with ribbon! It made me run faster. Hope you have a wonderful race and can’t wait to read your recap! By the way I did get that awesome PR and you will too!

Leave a Reply

