Vega One Nutritional Shake Review

I realize it has been more like ONE princess on the run since 2014! After experiencing a flood, fire and fraud in the last 8 weeks, I definitely feel like I have been running standing still. I miss spending time with my BRF’s running the indoor track. I miss even more the opportunity to run with Princess Jodi in Disney. And, most of all, I miss pounding the pavement thinking about nothing else other than living in that moment. That is why I jumped at the chance to write a review for Vega One all in one nutritional shakes. After all, the only way to get out of a running rut is one step in front of the other. And that what Vega One is all about: making one change at a time.

one_change

As a Sweat Pink ambassador, Jodi was asked to review the shakes, but knew that this might be the perfect fit for me. Often I will have a shake in the morning as I head out the door. Also, I will enjoy a shake after a long run. And, like so many of you, I have tried them all. What I loved most about Vega One Nutritional Shakes is that they are dairy, gluten, and soy free. Part of my weight loss goals includes cutting back on dairy products. And, although I loved my chocolate soy or almond milk nutritional shakes, the dairy and soy free option is very attractive!

20140303-180252.jpg

Vega One is made from whole food ingredients packed with: 50% daily intake of vitamins and minerals, 15g protein, 6g of fibre, 1.5g Omega-3, antioxidants, Probiotics and Greens. Vega One also comes in a host of flavours: French Vanilla, Berry, Vanilla Chai, Natural and Chocolate. My sample pack was French Vanilla. It was created by Brendan Brazier, professional Ironman, triathlete and author on performance nutrition. Another great feature of this nutritional shake is that it is free of added sugars, artificial flavours, colours, or sweeteners. It only has 123 calories when made with water.

I do have to say I was a bit shocked when I poured 1.5 cups of ice cold water into the contents and it produced a thick green mixture. This makes sense if you read the ingredients as it is based on pea protein among others. The directions suggested that you shake well. I would add “blend” well as the results are very chalky tasting if the contents are not mixed well. Also, the temperature of the liquid is very important. The colder the liquid, the better it tastes. Although, I only used water I would speculate that Vega One would be tasty added to a juice as the directions also suggest. However, as I am cutting back on sugars, this wasn’t an option for me.

20140303-180436.jpg

After only 9 shakes, I can’t attest if they made me feel more energized as the package states…BUT, it did curb my hunger. And, while the taste took some getting used to, I do applaud a dairy, soy and gluten free option. I like what the company stands for and I agree that one change can have a domino effect. It is important to look at what we put in our bodies to fuel our lives – and our runs. Most importantly, after taking this challenge, I am not standing still any longer.

Princess Alana

One thought on “Vega One Nutritional Shake Review

Leave a Reply

