Back in the Saddle

For those of you who don’t follow our blog regularly, my 2014 has not been a runner’s paradise. What I missed most was having a Disney race to look forward to. I have to admit, I have serious running blues and Disney “envyitis”. So, after a very hard winter, I was so excited when my parents invited us to Myrtle Beach for almost 2 weeks! After getting back on track with Vega One Nutritional shakes, I so needed to reflect on where my running journey has taken me, where I am now and what is next.

findingmystride

I still feel like a rookie, only getting into serious training in February 2012. After a whirl wind year of first 5Ks, 10Ks, and 10 milers, I was eager to run my first ever half-marathon at the 2013 Disney Princess Half-Marathon. That year was so special because Jodi and I were running together, chasing a dream that most people thought we literally were cuckoo for even considering. Crossing the finish line after running 13.1 miles symbolized that I could do anything. I am a teacher and my students were so proud of me, especially as it was that special Grade 8 class that challenged me to set my own lofty goal. What is more lofty then to aspire to be a long distance runner? From couch to 5K, they supported me!

My family also benefited greatly as my husband and wee girls not only cheered their “Mama Runner” on, but also became runners themselves. Running became an activity that we did as a family and together with Princess Jodi and her family. It helped me to find balance in my life. And, most importantly, running propelled me into a healthier lifestyle, shedding almost 50 lbs.

IMG-20130629-00721

So, where am I now? Honestly, I am in a running rut. Even in Disney movies, some fairy tales have not so royal beginnings. I even wonder if the “happily ever after part” stops short so not to expose the reality of life’s up’s and down’s. After such a tremendous journey leading to Disney Princess, I did find that I came to love running – not that I was “in love” with those long training runs! After the Disney Princess Half-Marathon, I could not fully commit to the Tinker Bell Half-Marathon for 2014 even though I wanted to run that race more than anything in the world. I did register and started to make plans to go. After a huge and disappointing withdrawal, for my fellow fairies as much as for me, I fell out of my fairy tale into real life.

But, I have realized something life-changing over the past two months about real life. Although running a Disney race was one of my greatest accomplishments and magical memories, I no longer NEED to run that race. Don’t get me wrong: I would jump at the opportunity to sparkle and shine with my fellow BAMRs at a Disney start line. But, that end goal is no longer the “be all, end all”. Tomorrow, I look forward to simply running. So, I guess the answer to my question, “Where am I now?”, is simply this: in the present. And, I am trying to run out of that rut one mile at a time.

sydenham10K 020

Where am I headed? Jodi and I are like minded BRFs! We are planners and doers, as we have proven to ourselves and each other time and time again. We welcomed in 2014 with a family fun New Year’s Resolution Run. And, afterwards, we set a running course for 2014. Our next goal is the Toronto Half-Marathon during the first weekend in May. So, with 6 weeks to go, my half-marathon training starts (again) NOW. I sure am looking forward to running in the spring temperatures of Myrtle Beach!

So, for anyone out there who is in a running rut, perhaps we can motivate each other. What exactly does it take to tie those shoes up and get back in a running routine? For me, I plan on hitting the shoe sale for a new pair of Asics, setting the alarm and just running…along the beach for starters!

Back in the saddle,
Princess Alana

8 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle

  1. Sounds like you have some great motivation. When I did my first disney race several years ago I only did the 5K and I told my students (middle school) that I would be running it. When I came back they were so proud of me and kept asking me how my “marathon” went and if I had won! Just so cute. Your story made me think of this.

  2. Not sure when you will be in myrtle Beach but the Divas Half marathon is April 27th and it should be a fun girly race. I am signed up with many other ladies from my running group. Can’t wait!

  3. Thanks for your honesty! It makes me feel better about my own running rut. I also am a newbie runner, ran the Princess last year, then ran another half and injured my knee. I allowed the injury, then the heat, then general busyness and procrastination to get the best of me for 7 months. I got back into training for another half a few weeks ago, and I am remembering how much I love running and how good it makes me feel! So, I’ll be following you on here and cheering for you!

  4. We all go through those running ruts. I have had some and I find that planning runs with friends helps me. When I had a major running rut, I finally pushed myself out there to go to the weekly pub run that is hosted by our local Fleet Feet. I went expecting to know no one and as luck would have it, I knew 2 people. Then I met several people that night and have had loads of running buddies since. We all help each other out of those ruts. Oh yeah, and new running gear always gets me motivated. 🙂

  5. I appreciate all your comments so much! I completed 2 of my 3 training runs this week with 2 cross training days……on the beach. It was amazing how my body responded! Your posts definitely keep me motivated so keep them coming!

  6. Wow! I’m so happy I stumbled onto this blog! My dream of running a Disney race got a major shot of fuel by your super fun race reports. And I can totally relate to this post. Being a runner is simple putting one foot in front of the other sometimes! Can’t wait I read more posts!

Leave a Reply

